Promise

Promise

Greetings from afar I’ll send, To… to you.

Remember I’m videsi, The shed behind the house of Hanuman, Where skies choked with familiar sounds Complete me. Repel me. Back to… to…

I had said Enough! Over-taxed, relations of two hemispheres, Led me to you. And then away.

That was sometime ago.

Now, I’ve gone. My promise My whispered love Now dregs of fond memory.

I’ve left. India. You. My youth. All gone, Only a hoarse cadence of a tongue, Weighed down, Overrun with a silence.

A shard cuts Red memories of a red country, all that,

And a promise.

Technorati Tags:

Leave a Reply

